Drew helps empower youth in Guyana

My name is Drew Badgley. I am a student in the International Development Studies Co-op at the University of Toronto Scarborough. I am currently on a one year placement gaining work experience in Georgetown, Guyana.

dylan

Drew Badgley


I am working with a youth empowerment organization (Volunteer Youth Corps Guyana) which supports marginalized youth by offering after school programs, mentoring and employment. My role is help them develop volunteer training materials and an after school curriculum that can be used as the organization expands into other at-risk communities.  Already I have had the opportunity to meet with many youth and volunteers and I have felt incredibly welcomed by this innovative and dedicated organization.

I have been given this opportunity through the co-op program at UTSC and through CUSO-VSO. CUSO-VSO is a volunteer-sending organization which sends volunteers to assist a wide range of organizations all over the world.

This blog is a summary of some of my experiences while on this placement. As I continue to meet new people, share life with them and overcome challenges you will get to share some of these experiences with me. Enjoy!

Day 1

So I made it in just fine this morning. I don’t remember much about the flights… because I spent most of my time sleeping. I do remember landing in Trinidad on the way and I woke up to see the landing in Guyana.

Once we (the rest of the VSO volunteers that I was traveling with) got through customs we were picked up and drove for about an hour to get into the city. A volunteer who has been here since May acted as our guide and she gave us many helpful tips!

After getting settled at the guest house – where I will be staying for the next few days – I had a shower, lunch and then went walking with another student who is here from U of T.

We found a Scotiabank, the library and the Promenade Garden. We also got to see a really cool lizard – but sadly it got away before I could get a picture :(.

I am very fortunate that I have had the day to rest and get my bearings. Tomorrow we will start into our in country training.

regent street

I thoroughly enjoy that one of the main roads is Regent street. It was the busiest place I was today - lots of vehicles, people and shops. Of course we stuck out like sore thumbs... probably didn't help that I whipped my camera out to take this picture:)I can't even describe to you how cool this tree is! It is a tree that has so many other plants growing on it that it is completely covered in their roots.

cool tree

I can't even describe to you how cool this tree is! It is a tree that has so many other plants growing on it that it is completely covered in their roots.

beautiful plant

Yet another beautiful plant seen at the garden.

lizard hole

The hole where the lizard got away... sigh.

guest house

And the food is great too!!!!

living room

The living room at the guest house where I am typing right now.

About uoftscarborough

The University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC) is home to a community of active learners drawn from all over the globe, determined to use what we discover – through investigation, collaboration and experience – to make our world a better place. Our campus is an integral component of Canada’s leading research-intensive university, a place where faculty contribute to cutting-edge knowledge, where the finest students are taught by the finest professors. Upon graduation, our students have earned one of the most rigorous and respected post-secondary degrees in the world. At UTSC, we are working together to find answers to tomorrow’s most important questions. And because the search for knowledge must always be conducted in a meaningful way, our campus is continually alive with innovative programming, engaging discourse and dynamic experiences that feed our spirits and enrich our minds. This is how to prepare students for the best possible future. This is how our scholarship contributes to a better world. This is our promise. Because tomorrow is created here.
This entry was posted in International Development Studies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Drew helps empower youth in Guyana

  1. Shannon says:

    So glad that you have chosen to volunteer in my home country! Can’t wait to go home for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

