Drew: Getting Excited

I am currently training with the organization that has sent me to Guyana, CUSO-VSO (the North American branch of the organization that sent me but the branch in Guyana is simply known as VSO). VSO stands for Volunteer Service Overseas. VSO has been active in Guyana for a long time and has many long term connections here. They are the ones who cover my living expenses and have found me a place to live (I move in early next week). Everything I need is provided and I even get a little stipend to cover some incidental costs. They have done an excellent job of taking care of me and have some top quality staff who are doing really great work.

I’m mostly excited because today we talked a lot about the different types of work that they do in Guyana and I started to get a better feel for what I will be doing. Now I just want to start doing it! I’m so used to dropping into places for only two weeks at a time and having to hit the ground running. Taking it slow is not my usual style but it will definitely be beneficial in the end.

So in the mean time, as I have mentioned before, I’m getting to know the city. I spend a couple of hours just walking everyday and saying hello to people here and there. I just finished walking through the last area of the city that I am encouraged to stay in. Much to my enjoyment, this corner of the city is where the Botanical Gardens are, so I wandered through there and ended up petting a manatee. YES, a manatee! They just hang out in a couple of big ponds and are quite friendly. Next time I go I will take a look at all of the interesting birds.

manatee

The manatee!!!

I am looking forward to starting some work and feeling a little less like a tourist but I am happy that at the very least I am getting a pretty good idea of the layout of the city.

All in good time… but I am getting excited!

botanical_gardens

Some more of the Botanical Gardens.

street shot

Street shots from the areas of town near the VSO office.

seawall

The seawall. It has quickly become one of my favourite places.

tree

What a beautiful tree!

About uoftscarborough

The University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC) is home to a community of active learners drawn from all over the globe, determined to use what we discover – through investigation, collaboration and experience – to make our world a better place. Our campus is an integral component of Canada’s leading research-intensive university, a place where faculty contribute to cutting-edge knowledge, where the finest students are taught by the finest professors. Upon graduation, our students have earned one of the most rigorous and respected post-secondary degrees in the world. At UTSC, we are working together to find answers to tomorrow’s most important questions. And because the search for knowledge must always be conducted in a meaningful way, our campus is continually alive with innovative programming, engaging discourse and dynamic experiences that feed our spirits and enrich our minds. This is how to prepare students for the best possible future. This is how our scholarship contributes to a better world. This is our promise. Because tomorrow is created here.
This entry was posted in International Development Studies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

