Breakthrough

So I have found (after a few days of searching) some really useful contacts here in the city.

I have also found some information on the mystery woman that I have been asking about over the last couple of days (a VERY round trip: one church, one bishop, four convents – two of which were either destroyed or no longer existed – some conversations with people on the street and in the market, a private meeting with a local business owner and finally an email back to Canada). One really great things is that I’ve gotten to know some good people. It has been really usefully for me to get out and talk to people and it is a great conversation starter when you can ask for their help to find someone.

The end result of a couple of days walking around the city and asking questions is that I now know a couple of people who may be able to help out either in a moment of need or if I just have questions. I was really blessed to have a person from Guyana give me some advice before I left and she is going to try and connect me with the person that I have been looking for.

This is all good for the long term and I’m pretty happy with how things have worked out so far.

I am very thankful for all of the blessings that I have received and some great time just to walk through the city and to focus on what is most important. Today I got to spend some really great time in prayer as I watched the tide come in.

And now some big things are starting to happen. Tomorrow I meet the director of the youth organization that I will be working for and get handed over. I also get to move into the place where I will be living. The next big challenge will be to figure out what it is that I am supposed to do while I am here:)

About uoftscarborough

The University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC) is home to a community of active learners drawn from all over the globe, determined to use what we discover – through investigation, collaboration and experience – to make our world a better place. Our campus is an integral component of Canada’s leading research-intensive university, a place where faculty contribute to cutting-edge knowledge, where the finest students are taught by the finest professors. Upon graduation, our students have earned one of the most rigorous and respected post-secondary degrees in the world. At UTSC, we are working together to find answers to tomorrow’s most important questions. And because the search for knowledge must always be conducted in a meaningful way, our campus is continually alive with innovative programming, engaging discourse and dynamic experiences that feed our spirits and enrich our minds. This is how to prepare students for the best possible future. This is how our scholarship contributes to a better world. This is our promise. Because tomorrow is created here.
This entry was posted in International Development Studies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

