Drew gets soaked… and gets hugged

So this morning was the first morning it has rained since I’ve been here. Well…. that’s not exactly true. We’ve have sprinkles and little showers every once in a while but because this is the hottest time of the year it has been pretty light. But today, it RAINED!

Now I’m sure any local person would laugh at my description of this morning. I’m sure once the rainy season gets here it will be a lot heavier than it was today. But for me it was a fair bit of rain.

Normally I would bike to work and I saw people who were biking with umbrellas, but I definitely am not ready to attempt such a feat. But I had a great time walking down to the bus stop that can get me to work. The way the bus lines run, there is no direct route that I can take but if I walk for ten minutes I can catch a bus that gets me pretty close. So off I went armed with my umbrella, thoroughly enjoying watching the water run through cracks in the pavement and into the canals. Most people were taking shelter and waiting for the rain to let up but with my North American (must be at work on time) sensibilities, I was determined not to let a simple thing like rain hold me back.

The long and the short of it is that I got soaked. Had a great time (and will definitely go out walking in the rain again) but I’m still a little wet.

And the rain that I though must continue strong for hours on end… passed in about half an hour.

But the reason why I am typing right now is because I just did a visit to an orphanage that is right around the corner from my work place. The organization that I am working with, Volunteer Youth Corps, was started by a group of high school students who started volunteering in local hospitals. It still has a strong focus on youth volunteering. So today I went to the orphanage that is one of their strongest partners.

The youth had warned me that things would be a little rough there. They say that the reason they like to go there is because they know that the kids really need people to spend time with them. While I was waiting to meet a staff member I had about 30 different hugs from about 12 kids who were mostly around the age of 4. One of them ran down the hall and jumped into my lap. I have never in my life seen kids who craved attention so much. I am going back tomorrow with a small group of the youth. I’ll definitely have some more to update after that.

Drew Badgley is a student at the University of Toronto Scarborough, studying International Development Studies, currently on Co-op placement in Guyana. 

About uoftscarborough

The University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC) is home to a community of active learners drawn from all over the globe, determined to use what we discover – through investigation, collaboration and experience – to make our world a better place. Our campus is an integral component of Canada’s leading research-intensive university, a place where faculty contribute to cutting-edge knowledge, where the finest students are taught by the finest professors. Upon graduation, our students have earned one of the most rigorous and respected post-secondary degrees in the world. At UTSC, we are working together to find answers to tomorrow’s most important questions. And because the search for knowledge must always be conducted in a meaningful way, our campus is continually alive with innovative programming, engaging discourse and dynamic experiences that feed our spirits and enrich our minds. This is how to prepare students for the best possible future. This is how our scholarship contributes to a better world. This is our promise. Because tomorrow is created here.
This entry was posted in International Development Studies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

